Skip to content

In search of the “very best” flapjack…

June 30, 2011

So did you see “The Apprentice” last evening? Honestly! I have to confess that I sometimes find myself watching this programme from behind a cushion because, frankly, most of this batch of candidates scares the living daylights out of me! Combine the cringe-worthy comments and copious amounts of attitude, it nevertheless makes compelling viewing in our household!

Watch The Apprentice baking challenge!

Last night was particularly interesting to me because the challenge was to develop, brand and sell into the UK’s biggest supermarket chains a “top-end” biscuit. I have to say I wasn’t that impressed with either of the team’s offerings, but I was interested to see that the winning biscuit had a flapjack base, and that the children in the focus group were all fans of this long-time favourite bake.

I can remember my mother making flapjacks when I was a child and I loved them as teatime treats. Nowadays I regularly make them for my hubby, as a staple for his workday lunchbox. He spends a lot of time in his car each day driving between calls, and frankly I prefer him to eat this (relatively) healthy option over chocolate bars any day!

Over the past couple of months I’ve been trying out a number of new flapjack recipes and (literally!) road-testing them on Mr Cupcake and Bake. It is amazing how many differing types of flapjack there are and how, given that the base ingredients are more-or-less the same, quite often the results vary so widely!

Great British Bake-off Recipe book

Coming up later today on the blog, I feature two recipes for flapjacks featured in recently published books; one by the doyenne of family baking, Mary Berry, and the other from the book accompanying the BBC TV series “The Great British Bake Off”. Traditionally, I have found Mary Berry’s recipes just don’t work for me (I cannot understand why….) but as she often calls her bakes “The Very Best” I felt I must include her version here.

Finally, I’ll feature what I believe to be the “Very Best Flapjack” – the one handed down through the generations of my family of course!   “Thanks MUM”!!!

If you try the recipes, let me know how you get on.  Alternatively, tell me… what was your favourite childhood baked treat?

Denise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

