Skip to content

I love…. Alison Gardiner designs

April 3, 2011

About a year ago, my family and I moved to our new home in Widley, which is just north of Portsmouth, situated slap bang on top of Portsdown Hill a dramatic chalk down which affords the most fabulous view of Portsmouth with all its sea-front landmarks (including The Spinnaker “Spinny” Tower, the Historic Royal Naval Dockyard and the cross-channel ferry port).  On a clear day you can even see all the way over The Solent to the Isle of Wight!  We just love to walk up to the top of the hill, sit and take in all the activity below.    

On a visit to Gunwharf Quays (a local shopping/cinema complex) one weekend last summer, I was absolutely amazed to stumble across one of my favourite artists selling her beautifully decorated bone china mugs as part of a special crafts weekend.  Said artist is the very talented Alison Gardiner, who has a wonderfully distinctive and quirky style that I love.  Over the years I’ve purchased many of her beautiful mugs during my visits to local National Trust properties and I was so excited to meet her in person.  We had a lovely chat and I was delighted to discover that she is based in Southsea – a matter of  just a few miles from our home!    Of course it was absolutely impossible for me to walk away without buying another mug for my collection – one that depicts Portsmouth Harbour and the Spinnaker Tower of course was most appropriate!

Alison’s style is colourful and humorous.   At the same time, being made from delicate bone china, they exude a stylish charm and elegance that certainly makes her mugs worthy of use when you’re entertaining friends and family!  I’ve actually found them to be quite the talking point when serving up tea, coffee and cakes at home!! 

Her latest offering is a Royal Wedding Mug and Plate.  There are of course many  commemorative products on the market right now, but without a doubt these are my preferred choice and I will be placing my order to add them to my own “Alison Gardiner collection” very soon!   Even better, I’m supporting a local artist in doing so!

So, if you’re something of a serial “mug collector” like me, I suggest you take a quick look at Alison’s website here…. I’m certain you’ll find something you love!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

