Skip to content

A belated start to a “Virtual LDW”!

April 16, 2011

So here I am, some 2 months after posting my first “Fit to Bake” entry and (yes you’ve guessed it) I’ve got precisely no-where with my fitness campaign!  In my defence, this lack of activity on the treadmill and other assorted fitness equipment currently festering at Chez Allen is not through the lack of good intentions or commitment, rather the result of one of the busiest work periods I can remember for a long long time.  

I recently started a new job, as the Office & Finance Manager for The Real Flower Company (a luxury brand internet retailer of scented garden rose bouquets) – right at the start of THE craziest period of any floristry company’s year…. Valentines & Mother’s Day!!  So, quite rightly I’ve been concentrating hard on this.  In between there have also been some lovely cake commissions to complete, so you see when the (rare) chance for a rest with a nice glass of vino has presented itself I’ve been only too pleased to grab it! 

However, Mother’s Day is now over for another year and the weeks of 12-14 hour days have passed…which means that my evenings are now freed up for other things!  So, treadmill here I come.  Excuses over, the Race for Life is a matter of only weeks away!

Lands End

Now, I don’t know about you, but I respond best to a challenge.  I’ve long since dreamt of walking several of the national long distance paths as I’ve got several friends who have done so and it sounds a great way to pass a few weeks.    A few years back a great chum of mine cycled from Lands End to John O’Groats, but he had the ability to take a month off his work – I don’t.   So to satisfy the need to “understand” the scale of the journey my friend Kevin completed, I thought I would set myself the challenge to walk/run a “virtual Lands End to John O’Groats” route from the comfort of our home.

Given I’ve only evenings and weekends to do this in, using my treadmill etc to monitor how far I’ve “travelled”, I realise this is going to take quite some time to do – but I reckon it’s an interesting idea and I wager my estimate of time will be way off how long it ACTUALLY takes…

Then I thought “why not stop off en-route” to bake and sample local goodies that originated from each particular area  “along the way”?   After all, I’ll have been walking and running off the calories beforehand, so I will be able to sample them “guilt free” – perfect!

So, here we go… I’ve got my large wall map ready and a route is plotted from the “The End to End Trail” guidebook, so no more excuses Denise, “John O’Groats here I come”!  

First leg of the journey is Lands End to Barnstaple.   I will be plotting my progress on the blog over the next few weeks/months and showing you the baked items I make along the way, I do hope you enjoy the trip and, if you have any suggestions for a local baked speciality then do let me know and I’ll try to include it.

Denise

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2011 10:11 am

    What an absolutely brilliant idea DEnise, best of luck I shall be watching from the comfort of my sofa ;o) x

  2. April 17, 2011 10:02 am

    Morning Helen! Well, I’m on my way!! This morning 5k in 52 mins, a mixture of some fast walking (well, fast for me anyhow) and a couple of attempts at a jog…. an awfully long way to go but it feels good to have got moving. Enjoy your Sunday, whether on the sofa or out and about in the lovely weather! Dx

Trackbacks

  1. I spy with my little eye… a Cornish village starting with “Z” « cupcakeandbake
  2. Back on the road again! « cupcakeandbake

Leave a Reply

