Skip to content

I spy with my little eye… a Cornish village starting with “Z”

April 24, 2011
 
So here we are, at the end of the first week of my “health & fitness” campaign and I’m happy to report that I’ve kept to my good intentions and have well and truly dusted off that treadmill of mine!

You may remember that in my previous blog, “A belated start to a Virtual LDW”, I set myself the challenge to walk/run the distance between Lands End in Cornwall and John O’Groats in Scotland using my treadmill & cross-trainer to record the miles completed.  This was an attempt to kick start my preparations for the two sponsored walking/running events I’ve signed up to this summer, to rediscover my love of running and lose the weight I’ve put on over the last couple of years.

They say the first steps are the hardest to take and, indeed, that first time on the treadmill was hard work, but I walked my way to 5km in 52mins and it felt GOOD!  Since then, during a couple of

The beautiful Cornish coast at Zennor

evenings after work, I’ve added another 10km – both times improving on the previous time taken (50 & 48.5 mins respectively), and during each I’ve started to jog again.   Yesterday, with Mr Cupcake and Bake for company, I walked between our home in Widley and the beautiful seaside town of Emsworth, a distance of 8m (12.5km), following The Wayfarer’s Walk and The Solent Way long distance paths.

Total distance covered during Week 1 : 28.5km

Now, where does that get me on my virtual LDW?     Well, by my calculations just a shade past Zennor in Cornwall and on the road to St.Ives.       Here is an image from the Zennor Parish council WebPages, it looks pretty doesn’t it?  

So, I’m going to give myself a pat on the back, and head off into week 2 wondering if I know of any other British villages or towns that start with a “Z” (do you?), and will I come across any of them on my virtual travels in the weeks to come??? 

Denise

Leave a Reply

