Skip to content

Yummy yummy Eric Lanlard Carrot Cake…

April 26, 2011

OMG! I must urge you all to rush out and buy this month’s edition of “Delicious” magazine! There is the MOST a-maz-ing carrot cake recipe on page 81, courtesy of the fabulous Cakeboy himself – Mr Eric Lanlard.It is part of a Royal Wedding related feature he has been commissioned to make/write by the magazine; a three tier cake decorated for Catherine & William – the other tiers being chocolate and lemon (both yet to be tested by moi!).

I made the cake yesterday, and firstly I noticed it came out to a really impressive size!  I left it to rest overnight and then iced it this morning with cream cheese frosting – to my own recipe, as the cake featured in Delicious has been sugarpasted as a wedding cake.

Here are some pictures taken along the way….

I sliced the cake into three in order to fill it evenly with the cream cheese frosting, the covered the tops and sides the same….finished off with walnuts, decorative carrots and a sprinkling of icing sugar to the top.

I have to say this is one of the yummiest carrot cakes I’ve made, and I can completely see why it would suit a wedding cake – as the size is really impressive and I would certainly consider it to be sturdy enough to take dowelling and stacking (and at 23cm width it is only the middle tier!).

Mr Cupcake & Bake and the rest of the family really loved it – and I have had a small taster too!   It is the first time I’ve cooked an Eric Lanlard recipe (although I’ve long admired his glamourous style) and am now inspired to do more.  As a self-confessed cookery book hoarder, you’ll not be surprised to know I have 2 or 3 or Mr Lanlard’s books already on my shelves – which will now definitely be seeing some action for sure!

Do you think this counts as 1 of our “5 a day”?  It is made with carrots and sultanas after all!

What is your favourite veggie containing cake-bake?

Denise

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ed O'Brien permalink
    May 6, 2011 6:06 pm

    Is there any chance of you posting or emailing me the recipe for the carrot cake?

    I went to the shops today but the May edition is no longer on sale!

  2. Synne permalink
    August 9, 2011 7:04 pm

    I tasted his carrot cake when I was in London and it was ahh-mazing!!! Yours looks like a masterpiece and made me crave his carrot cake 😛 Could you mail me the recipe?

  3. Gaelle permalink
    October 14, 2011 4:43 pm

    Could I please please please have the recipe too? It sounds amazing! I love Eric Lanlard!! Thanks!

  4. Heidi permalink
    April 12, 2012 1:31 pm

    I’ve been asked to do a carrot cake for a wedding – never done a carrot cake – would you be so kind as to send me this recipie please!! You’d be an absoulute life saver!

  5. HEIDI permalink
    April 12, 2012 1:42 pm

    I have been asked to do a carrot cake for a friends wedding – I have never made a carrot cake. Please im looking for an amazing carrot cake recipe – please could i get a copy of this!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE

    • April 17, 2012 7:20 am

      Hello Heidi – keep watching I’m going to publish my version of this cake over the coming weekend… in fact I’ll do it with step-by-step pictures for you too. Sure my family won’t mind polishing off the resulting carrot cake! Denise x

Leave a Reply

