Skip to content

Flapjack test 1…Mary Berry’s “Fast Flapjacks”

July 1, 2011

I have a “love/hate” relationship with Mary Berry.  I really enjoy watching her on TV (and have done so since I was a little girl sitting alongside mum – when Mary was the celebrity cook of her day!) and I have collected most of her published cooking/baking books over the years.  BUT for some inexplicable reason, in the past I just haven’t had much success recreating her lovely bakes in my kitchen!!

Gather the ingredients

However when it comes to the great Cupcake and Bake Flapjack test, surely I couldn’t get that wrong – they’re flapjacks(!) so simple, right!!??    Well, I confess, I have now made them twice… the first occasion although edible, you really needed an A1 pair of teeth in order to enjoy them.  Anybody with a pair of falsies (teeth that is) would definitely have lost them at first bite.   Here we go again I thought….. then I went back for a second go, and discovered (perhaps) where I go wrong with Mary’s work.

Tip 1: Read the recipe instructions, and follow them!

The first highlighted sentence reads “these flapjacks are crunchy and traditional.  Take care not to overbake them, as they can become hard and dark”….so clearly I had ignored that, made my own assessment and decided to leave them in too long resulting in overcooked, tasty yes,  but “challenging” flapjacks!

Melt butter, sugar and syrup

Lesson learned, so here we go for round 2.

***************************

Ingredients & Method:

225g (8oz) butter, 225g (8oz) demerara sugar, 75g (3oz) golden syrup and 275g (10oz) porridge oats.

1. Preheat oven to 160 degC / Gas 3.   Grease a 12 x 9″ tray/roasting tin.

2. Melt butter in a large saucepan with the sugar and syrup then stir in the oats.  Mix well and turn into the prepared tin and press down flat with a palette knife or back of a spoon.

Stirring in the oats/muesli (love this bit!)

3. Bake for 35 mins or until pale golden brown.  Remove from oven and leave to cool for 10 mins before marking into squares.  Leave in the tin to finish cooling.

Into the oven

****************************

How did I get on?  Well, ok actually.  I did substitute 175g (60z) of porridge oats with a lovely pumpkin seed muesli mix plus a handful of raisins to make them “more interesting” but on the whole this time, by following ALL the instructions to the letter I had better luck.

Problem is, its awfully hard when you’ve got family clamouring for a taste to leave them to cool completely in the tin!!  So they did get removed from the tin before they were ready, resulting in what I call a “rustic” finish, not nice straight/clean edges!

The finished flapjacks ready to be munched!

From a taste point of view….boy they were sweet and the demerara gives a very treacly taste.  However the muesli gave a lovely crunch and balance to the sweetness and Mr Cupcake and Bake LOVES them.  Packed away in a tin, they successfully provided lunchbox treats for the working week.

I’d give these 8/10, the mixture is spread a bit too thin in the tin I think, giving a rather thin flapjack, plus they’re a little bit too sweet for my taste.  However, as I said before, hubby thought they were fab, so see how you get on….

Denise

One Comment leave one →
  1. June permalink
    October 6, 2013 2:32 pm

    I read your blog when searching for a flapjack recipe. I made some using muscovado sugar and half muesli and oats. I left the syrup boiling by accident and had the oven a little too hot although I did use a smaller baking tin. It looked rather dark and I thought I might have to throw it away. I entered it into the village show along with cupcakes, fairy cakes, biscuits and a flavoured cake. The only prize I won was for the flapjack! I won £20 and the championship cup. Thankyou.

Leave a Reply

