Skip to content

Happy Halloween! A simple cake decoration idea for this Spooky Weekend!

October 25, 2011

I don’t know about you, but I always think that the weekend around Halloween kinda “kick-starts” the whole end of year festivities… Halloween, Thanksgiving (in America), Christmas and New Year… there always seems to be something  “interesting” going on for the whole of the final two months of the year, that brightens up the dark and dreary days of winter!

In addition to these traditional festivals, there are a number of other autumnal/winter events that I look forward to as well…. the BBC Children In Need appeal, The Royal British Legion Festival of Remembrance (sooo moving!), plus the “Strictly Come Dancing” and “X-Factor” finals too!

For many of these occasions, you might get together with friends and family to celebrate or commemorate, or maybe to just enjoy each other’s company… and a home-made cake or two ALWAYS goes down a treat I reckon!

Last weekend we had my in-laws to stay, and although it was a good week before Halloween, I decided to inject some interest into our Sunday teatime together by baking some cupcakes and decorating them in “Spooky Style”!   I was, however, a bit short on time…but managed to pull together a really seasonal display using some relatively inexpensive items that can easily be purchased online.

Presenting…. the Halloween Haunted House with Spooktastic Cupcakes!

Haunted House Cupcakes!

The Haunted House, a “disposable” cupcake stand (although if looked after will serve well for a good few years I think) was sourced from Lakeland.   The cupcake cases and Halloween “picks” were found online from Cakes and Cookies Craft Shop (also available from Cupcake Style).     Oh, and the Spiders Web cupcake wrappers can be found at Squires Kitchen.   All I had to do was make some delicious cupcakes (mine were Ginger), pipe some simples swirls of buttercream on the top and add a “pick” to each one.  Then place on the cupcake stand on your party table… VOILA!  Totally fabulous and the whole thing was completed in under 2 hours!

For me, I like to take time to make sure the display “gels” together – so you’ll see I’ve picked co-ordinating cupcake cases and picks, to match well with the colours of the cupcake stand itself which gives a really pleasing finish to the eye I think.

Finally, I carved a Halloween pumpkin!  What do you think?

My first ever carved pumpkin!

I was definitely inspired by my recent trip to The States, where Halloween is a “big” event.  I just LOVE the bright jewel like colours – really cheery and just what we need as the nights draw in.

Feeling inspired?  I hope so! Our “big kids” loved it, and I’m sure your little ones will too…

Enjoy Halloween and remember to watch out for things that go “Bump in the night”!

Denise x

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

