Skip to content

Cake International 2011 – the early bird catches the worm!

November 8, 2011

A few weeks back I posted a retrospective look at Cake International 2010 and revisited my favourite bakes and designs of last year’s show – the first I had actually attended at the NEC in Birmingham, UK.   Here is a shot of my favourite cake from last year’s show…

Happy Halloween cake 2010!

Its a bit of a trek to Birmingham from Portsmouth, but I decided I was going to make the time to visit again this year… and without too much persuading, managed Mr Cupcake and Bake to accompany me (and it was good excuse to have an overnight hotel stay!!)…. and so last Saturday evening we set off.

The old folks take a break! Liz & Phil! God Bless 'em!

This year we applied one lesson we learned from visiting the show last year…. arrive EARLY!  We were there at 8.45am on Sunday morning as the doors opened, and headed straight for the competition cakes area to get a good view of the many a-maz-ing entries to this year’s exhibition. 

Tribute to Amy Winehouse....beautiful work.

We were not disappointed by the standard, and were thankful for the early arrival as it gave me the perfect opportunity to take some photographs in relative peace!!!

Beautiful detail.... something for every sugarcrafter to aspire to!

Here (above & below) are my favourites from this year’s show….

Kate's Royal Wedding bouquet in sugarpaste!

My personal “Best in Show” was this beautiful underwater Coral Reef cake…. and how odd it was to find out (post-visit via my blog) that this cake was designed and made by the very same lady that made my favourite from last year’s show “The Halloween Wonky”…  spooky!

Coral reef cake... my favourite of 2011 show!

After a quick whizz round the trader’s stalls we headed back home, down the M40, tired but inspired!  On the way out, I was delighted to see that next year there is to be a Cake International 2012 in London (in June) as well as the annual November exhibition at the NEC … watch this space for details!

Denise x

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

