Skip to content

New weekly blogspot …”From the Biscuit Barrel” (or should that be the Cookie Jar?)

June 23, 2012

Yesterday I spent a lovely hour in the kitchen mixing up a few batches of biscuits, which all the family enjoy of course,  but I particularly like to do this so that I can give them to my hubby in his weekday lunch box (instead of shop bought alternatives).  No additives, no preservatives and bags more taste!

Its amazing how quick and easy it is to make home-made biscuits, and if you use staple “store-cupboard” ingredients (nothing too exotic) it is also a much cheaper option too!

So, I thought I’d introduce a new weekly blogspot, called “From the Biscuit Barrel”…. with a recipe a week for you to try if you feel so inclined.  If you have kids, get them in the kitchen with you to do this – I had a blast with my mum when I was a young girl making biscuits and cakes with her – and it makes for special memories of times spent together when you think back.

So, we’ll start with the 3 different biscuits I made yesterday – pictured above and inspired by the books shown – one per week. First up…. Anzac Biscuits.  Watch out for the recipe later today.

The result of a happy day baking (2 batches inspired by the books shown) left to right: Goosnargh Cakes, Snickerdoodles and Anzac Biscuits

Oh, and with reference to the title of this blog – what do you say? Biscuit barrel or Cookie Jar?  I’d love to hear from you; let me know where you live and what you call them – biscuits or cookies – and why not share your own favourite recipe?

Happy baking

Denise x

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

