Skip to content

Cake of the Week: A Royal Mail Post Box!

July 2, 2012

I enjoy all the cakes I make on the whole, but this one I absolutely loved!  A foot high bright red Post Box… made to say a fond farewell to a much loved local postie!

Why did I love it so much? Hard to say… but I think it had quite a lot to do with it not “looking” like a cake… do you understand what I mean?  You know, most cakes look like cakes, even though they’re usually beautifully decorated and adorned.  This one was actually constructed in the shape of the object itself albeit on a much smaller scale.

Anyhow, I was asked to make the cake for a local postman who was being transferred to another route, and who would be much missed for his friendly banter, professionalism and care.  A real community hero!

The cake was a moist chocolate cake and was decorated on both sides, one side from the present era with the Royal Cipher of HM Queen Elizabeth II and with the reverse reminiscent of the reign of her father HM King George VI.

The cake worked really well visually I believe, due I think to the use of a limited palette of colours.  Pillar box red, yellow, gold and bright green.  Simple but visually appealing.  And in a nod to the current modern use of email and Instant Messenging, I added a little humour by including a cute snail.  Get it? Yes? No?  Come on…. “SNAIL MAIL” lol!!

I’m glad to report the cake was loved by all, and I’m told had been completely demolished and eaten outright by said Postie and his sorting office colleagues within a couple of hours!  Good job they’ve got miles and miles of letter delivering to do in order to walk off all the calories!

Denise x

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Francesca permalink
    July 2, 2012 2:07 pm

    Oh it’s lovely. Well done Denise, you did a fab job!

  2. July 2, 2012 7:25 pm

    Hi Francesca, thanks so much! I wonder if anyone has ever made a mini cakey village lol! Would be fun! D

  3. Karen B permalink
    December 19, 2012 8:36 pm

    I love your cake. Did you bake it in a bean tin to get the shape. I tried this but the middle didn’t bake too well. Do you have any suggestions please.

  4. Karen B permalink
    December 19, 2012 8:36 pm

    e-mail address as below if you could reply please.

    • December 26, 2012 10:43 am

      Hi Karen B…. in actual fact this cake was made for a large party and was constructed from 3 sponge cakes each measuring 7″ across (one stacked upon the other). I’ve never yet tried a baked bean tin as a cake tin… probably I’d be inclined to use a couple of pie tin sized (3″ diameter) cake tins if you wanted to make this cake smaller in size. Thanks for the lovely comment and question – good luck with your baking.
      D

  5. Kerry permalink
    February 15, 2013 12:18 pm

    Hi, I think this cake is great! I want to have a go at this as my dad is a postie and he retires soon. Wanted a bit of advice though as i am not a cake maker but do have a go……….. how did you ice the red did you do it in one bit or in stages. Thank you K

    • February 16, 2013 9:58 am

      Dear Kerry – thank you so much for getting in touch. I really enjoyed making this cake – and it is comparatively simple, so I’m sure you’ll get good results. The main body of the cake was made from 3 7″ cakes stacked one on top of the other. The very top was a separately carved sponge tin cake. The main body was first ganached and then I rolled out one large piece of red fondant measured to fit the cake in one piece (a large rectangle). You can either “roll” the cake into the icing on your worktop OR (as I did roll) the icing gently round a large sugarcrafters rolling pin and lift vertically into place and gradually unroll around the cake as you move the cake round on a turntable. You may find it easier to have someone help you with this if it is your first time. The lid of the post box was separately covered both sides with fondant. Once the main fondant is on you can add the detail/trimmings. Hope that helps – and if you have time please do let us see a picture of your finished cake. Denise

  6. Nina permalink
    November 15, 2013 12:52 pm

    I would love to know how to make this cake if anyone can help??

Leave a Reply

