Skip to content

Cake of the Week: Fireman Sam

July 22, 2012

One of the joys of cake decorating is the element of surprise, wondering just what cake design the upcoming week will bring.    A surprise for me sometimes, but even more so for my hubby (aka Mr Cupcake and Bake) who wanders out into the kitchen sometimes wondering just “what on earth” he’ll find me producing this time??!!!

We had quite a laugh when I was making the subject of this week’s “Cake of the Week” as he walked in at the end of his days work to find what appeared to be a “small child sitting on the worktop” in front of me!  In fact it was my Fireman Sam cake, made for quite the demanding young birthday boy who wanted a “Sam” cake and not a fire engine!

So, not to disappoint, I made a 18″ high cake model of Fireman Sam in his full uniform, complete with helmet, jacket, big fireman’s boots and a water hose.  Completely edible, in chocolate cake and not a fire engine in sight!  Happily, little Sonny was very pleased with his very special cake… job done.

Denise x

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth lloyd permalink
    January 18, 2013 7:02 am

    I love it how dod you make the sponge and did you use ricecrispy for the head Ruth

    • January 18, 2013 7:49 am

      Hi Ruth – yes it was great fun to make this one, and it was quite big – just like having a toddler sitting on the desk in front of me! The whole thing was made from a chocolate cake (Lindy Smith’s recipe) which is moist and can be carved easily. From memory I think I made body and head from “domed pudding basins” (the type you would make a Christmas pudding in) and I also made a square cake that I chopped into appropriate sized pieces to make arms and legs! It was a labour of love! Denise x

  2. Claire strong permalink
    February 3, 2013 2:13 pm

    I love this fireman Sam cake and so would my little boy who is obssed with him how much does it cost and do u deliver only thing I am in Newcastle

    • February 5, 2013 10:00 pm

      Hi Claire – thanks so much for getting in touch…and for the lovely comments on my Fireman Sam. I regret that, as I am based in Hampshire, I am not able to supply the Newcastle area – have you “googled” for cake decorators in your area and then you could perhaps show them the picture from this site? I don’t have a contact in that area off the top of my head, but will have a think! Good luck x

  3. Kerry Allen permalink
    February 11, 2013 6:38 pm

    This cake looks amazing, could you please provide me with a quote? I am based in Portsmouth and my Son’s 3rd birthday party is end of March for 30 children.

    Thanks in advance
    Kerry

Leave a comment