Skip to content

On the road again: Moonwalk training…Week 1 completed

July 23, 2012

Well, here we are a week later and I’ve managed 5 walks in the last 8 days… and I’m really pleased that I’ve kept up the motivation – as for many of those walks I’ve been in treading the pavements in either high winds combined with drizzle OR dry spells alternating with TORRENTIAL downpours.  Your average July weather…

Each walk has been 4 miles in distance so I’ve clocked up 20 miles, mostly walking along Portsdown Hill just a hop skip and a jump from our home in Widley.

I had only 1 blister to report until last Thursday evening when, in fairly warm evening sun I felt I just couldn’t pull on the trainers…they were going to be just too hot.  Big mistake.  One huge blood blister on the sole of one foot, with a blister on each heel…. for the sake of wearing “more comfortable” everyday shoes!  Mental note not to do that again!

I’ve registered my interest in walking the 2013 London Moonwalk with Walk the Walk, but need to make sure to keep an eye on their website and Facebook page to see when entries are open as places fill fast.  My walking partner to be, Debbie, was on a hen weekend last weekend and I gather has yet to start her walking campaign…but as she as she is much thinner than me, and has just recently completed the 2012 Rowans Moonlight Memories Walk, she is really ahead of me in the preparedness stakes I reckon.

In terms of where I would be on my virtual “Lands End to John O’Groats” walk, 20 miles would place me a quarter of the way between Zennor and Gwithian.  For now catch up on my earlier post about Gwithian…  though I’m looking forward to passing where I left off last year so that I can start posting about the beautiful places of the UK and some of the wonderful regional bakes that you would encounter should you actually walk end to end.

This coming week Mr Cupcake and Bake and I are on holiday, so plan to walk most days.  I’m prepared though, I’ve bought some blister plasters and plenty of foot massaging creams and potions!!

Whatever you’re doing, have a good week friends.

Denise x

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

