Skip to content

Cake of the Week: An Olympic Birthday Cake!

July 28, 2012

Good afternoon all.  Today is my birthday, so just a quick post for now to share with you all this week’s “Cake of the Week” – my own birthday cake!

A year ago, I made myself a classic carrot cake (one of my all time favourites) and I remember noting in my blog post then that my birthday this year would coincide with the start of the London 2012 Olympic Games – and that consequently I would theme my birthday cake around this historic event.

Well, here it is…. what do you think?  3 tiers of chocolate cake (which keeps very well thankfully – as we’ll be eating this cake over many days I feel!), with one featuring the London skyline and the other two decorated around the colours and logo of  Team GB plus the Olympic rings themselves.

We’ll be cutting the cake later on this evening – and already I’m thinking about the dilemma many of my customers report…. the trauma of cutting into the cake and destroying the design!    Got to be done though, after all – life is for living and cake is for enjoying!

If you’d like to see more pictures, including more of the London skyline silhouettes head on over to my Facebook page.

In the meantime, I hope you’ll enjoy the spectacle of the 30th Olympiad and get behind your team!  In our household we are already enjoying the variety of sports on show and are wishing Team GB good luck and  “Go for Gold”!

Denise x

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Francesca Lobban permalink
    July 29, 2012 2:17 am

    Happy Happy Birthday to you – I hope you have had a lovely day Denise. Your cake is lovely and definitely worthy of Cake of the Week. I hope it tasted as good as it looks xx

  2. July 30, 2012 8:17 pm

    This looks amazing! What a great idea for a cake. Me and my house mate made a Giant Team GB cupcake, you should check it out at http://feedtheburn.wordpress.com

  3. Tammy permalink
    August 27, 2012 5:34 pm

    Awesome Cake!! I have a friend who has requested a cake similar to this for her son’s olympic themed birthday party (we live in the US so I’m not taking any business from you) but I’m wondering if you have any advice on doing the skyline?

  4. August 27, 2012 6:09 pm

    Hey Tammy! Lovely to hear from you…. where are you in the States? More than happy to help with the skyline question – what would you like to know? Denise

  5. Tammy permalink
    August 28, 2012 12:48 am

    Denise – I am in Minnesota. Nothing real specific – except did you have a specific template that you used – I’m having a hard time finding one with the bridge in it (and I know nothing about the London skyline to be honest) was your bridge the one that seems to go all the way across the skylines I’m seeing? mainly asking because the person who wants the cake had specifically mentioned the bridge. I have a couple of templates/stencils I printed off the internet and was planning on just using them to cut out my fondant & was just wondering if you had any other tips/suggestions!! Thanks for your help.

    • August 28, 2012 6:28 am

      Hi Tammy – all I did was a Google search for “London Skyline silhouettes” and selected individual building silhouettes that I liked. Try to keep your choice to fairly simplified outlines (otherwise you’ll drive yourself mad trying to cut them out and I think they look too fussy anyway). Save the image to your PC and then print them out sized up to an appropriate size for the height of your cake (that is a subjective decision – no formula there). Then, when I was happy with the size, I laminated each building individually. Cut the building from the laminate sheet and put aside. Black sugarpaste was then stiffened using CMC powder so that it becomes more elastic and will take being rolled out really thinly. Cut round each building and put the sugarpaste buildings to one side – open to the air so that they dry out a little. Be careful not to make them to stiff otherwise they’ll bread as you apply to the cake. Oooh… cut round the buildings on the paste with a sharp craft knife… good for detail.
      In terms of the placement…. a true Londoner will tell you that the silhouettes on my cake are not really in the correct order! However, my view is to make it look appealing to the eye on the cake but try to keep to the correct order as much as you can – you’ll get that by googling again. I used… The London Eye, Tower Bridge, Westminster Abbey, The Gherkin, The O2, Tower 42, St Pauls Cathedral and Wembley Stadium.
      Good Luck, I hope that helps – please let me see a picture when you’re done. Dx

      • August 28, 2012 6:29 am

        Typo alert! They’ll BREAK not bread 😉

      • Tammy permalink
        August 28, 2012 7:41 pm

        Good to know!! Thanks for your help! Will post a pic when it is done.

  6. Tammy permalink
    September 2, 2012 5:57 pm

    I made my cake & thought it turned out!! I posted some pictures on Cake Central – my name on there is tjsturm or you can I can email you some pictures. Let me know.

    • October 19, 2012 11:08 am

      Hi Tammy – I wasn’t able to find you on Cake Central… would love to see a picture x

      • Tammy Sturm permalink
        October 20, 2012 1:34 am

        here’s my olympic birthday cake!!  sorry you couldn’t find me on cake central. tammy

        ________________________________

      • Tammy permalink
        October 20, 2012 1:36 am

        i sent some pictures via reply to the email I got notifying me of this message. let me know if you get it!! thanks.

      • October 20, 2012 12:17 pm

        Hi Tammy nothing received as yet – attach a link (URL) to a reply to this message perhaps and I’ll use that – really looking forward to seeing your cake, denise

      • Tammy permalink
        October 20, 2012 12:54 pm

        http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2395066/olympics
        see if this works!!

      • October 20, 2012 1:13 pm

        It did! Thank you – and that is brilliant work, well done! x

      • Tammy permalink
        October 20, 2012 7:18 pm

        Thank you for your help on it!

Leave a Reply

