Skip to content

Happy 100th Birthday Julia!

August 15, 2012

Today, August 15th, would have been the 100th Birthday of the culinary legend Julia Childs.  Thank you Google for reminding me of this fact with your Google-Doodle today!

One of my favourite Nora Ephron films is “Julie and Julia” (have you seen it?) and in honour of Julia’s birthday I’ve got it on the DVD player right now – I love that film!    I’ve always admired Julie Powell’s idea to cook her way through Julia’s cookbook “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” but it isn’t something I’m ever going to manage… I just cannot see myself de-boning a duck, or boiling a lobster – can you?

However, a fabulous idea has just occurred to me!  I could and what’s more I should bake my way through a beautiful cookbook that I have on my bookshelves with a similar theme …. namely, “The Art of French Baking” by Ginette Mathiot.

So, I cannot promise a recipe a day, but I’m going to take this wonderful book and work my way through its fabulous pages and blog my results.  There are definitely bakes that I have not attempted before within its pretty pages – which by the way are full of fabulous photographs and attractive illustrations.

I’ve been to France twice – both times on school trips (such a LONG time ago!) and consequently have never experienced the pleasures of the Patisserie or Boulangerie first hand.  Perhaps by attempting this baking challenge, I’ll be inspired to cross that Channel with Mr Cupcake and Bake and compare my home-baked goodies to the real thing!

Brioches, Eclairs, Souffles, Choux Buns, Madeleines, Gateaux, Meringues and Macarons – here I come!

So, a Happy Birthday to Julia and a “Bon Appetit” to you all!

Denise x

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2012 9:34 am

    Hi Denise,
    I love the film to! I’m not a great cook so I shall look forward to you sharing your experiences of Julia’s recipes with us!
    best wishes
    kat
    #BYW2

Trackbacks

  1. “A” is for Angel Cake or, (en Francais) … cuisson gâteau mousseline! « cupcakeandbake

Leave a Reply

