Skip to content

Cake of the Week: Figgy Pudding Christmas Cake

December 28, 2012

Christmas template

This week’s “Cake of the Week” has to be one I made as a Christmas present for my great chums Tony & Cassie Whelan.

Sadly I don’t get to see this special couple very often, but it doesn’t matter – I know that they’re always there for me with their unique brand of humour and sensible advice – and I feel honoured to have met them both a few years back.

This year has had its “ups and downs” for me personally health-wise and career-wise and even though I’ve said nothing to either of them, Cassie & Tony’s “sixth sense” alerted them to that and over the first few months of the year they kept a quiet eye on me and offered tremendous (if “long-distance”) support via regular Facebook messages.   Latterly I’ve suffered a painful foot injury and Tony was kind enough to invite me to have a sports massage to alleviate the symptoms and address the cause of the problem (he and Cassie run a complementary health business “Act4Health” in Hampshire).

Ditcham Park Guess the Weight cake

In return I offered a Christmas cake for their family celebrations this festive season.  I was unsure for sometime what design to make those guys… but a few weeks back I posted pictures of a cake I made for a “Guess the Weight of the Cake” stall at Ditcham Park School Xmas Fayre on to my Facebook site (see above).  Cassie saw this picture and registered a comment “OMG that is perfect!”  So, think no more Denise… that was the one to make.

And here it is.  A pretty large cake, all fruit and covered in chocolate flavoured sugarpaste.

Christmas Cake for Cass & Tony

I delivered the cake to Cassie (Tony was out that day) on the Saturday before Christmas – and to say she blew me away with her emotional reaction would be the understatement of the year!   She loved it and I loved the way that made me feel… the joy of giving is priceless!

I hope you enjoyed your Christmas and I wish you all a very Happy New Year 2013.

Denise x

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Francesca permalink
    December 28, 2012 5:44 pm

    Happy New Year Denise, I hope 2013 is filled with good opportunities for you and your family xx

Leave a Reply

