Skip to content

Wedding Cake of the Week: March 31st – from Cupcakes by Louise

March 31, 2013


Wedding Cake of the Week template

This week something quite quite different, but becoming more and more popular I’ve noticed… what I call a “ruffle truffle cake”.

This cake, by “Cupcakes by Louise” was (no doubt) the star of the show – after the bride of course – at a wedding at Rhinefield House in the New Forest, Hampshire.   The bottom tiers, beautifully decorated with delicate rose swirls, are described by the baker as a  12 inch vanilla and a 10inch carrot cake and on the top a tower of 100 cake truffles infused with a selection of alcohol liquers.  Utterly scrumptious and stunningly beautiful!  If I were planning my wedding now, I’d seriously consider something like this – as it could easily double up as a wedding breakfast dessert.

Truffles and Ruffles

I also adore that cake stand.  Overall, there is an undeniable vintage feel to this cake, but those truffles lend a real contemporary twist – fabulous work I’m sure you’ll agree.

Cupcakes by Louise is run by Louise Miles and based in Verwood, Dorset, Hampshire.   You can find out more from the website or Louise’s Facebook page.

Denise x

Vintage Brooch Cake (1)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2013 3:52 pm

    This truffle cake looks stunning. Well done Denise x

    • April 4, 2013 4:33 pm

      Hello – and thank you for taking the time to visit my blog… however I must “put you right” in that this cake wasn’t made by me – but by “Cupcakes by Louise” – and I absolutely agree with you that it is absolutely stunning! Whilst I used to make cakes part-time these days my blog concentrates on highlighting all the other clever and talented people in the sugarcrafting and baking industries. I notice that you are emailing from a business in Brighton and will be taking a look at your website later… Denise x

  2. February 8, 2014 2:29 pm

    wow, I’ve only just seen this, thank you so much for blogging about my cake! 😉

Leave a Reply

