Skip to content

Book review: “Happy Cake Days” from Wendy Schlagwein

April 18, 2013

Cake International & Wendy template

On Friday 12th April I travelled to London to visit “Cake International” at the ExCel Exhibition Centre in Docklands.  I was particularly excited to visit the show as I had treated myself, for the first time ever, to a “VIP” ticket – affording me entry to the VIP Lounge amongst other things which was (in my opinion) worth every extra penny! More on that another time maybe…

There was so much to see that day and I spent 6 happy hours wandering around… taking in all the competition cakes, the exhibitors stands and attending a very interesting talk from David Brice of Paul Bradford Sugarcraft.  This will feature in a later post.

Wendy Schlagwein

I took many pictures, and will share these over coming posts/days, but for today I would like to showcase the work of a lovely lady, sugar artist called Wendy Schlagwein (seen above), whom I met at the show.  Wendy hails from The Netherlands, and runs a successful cake decorating school called “4 The Love of Cake”  in Hazerswoude.

Wendy has also authored 3 books and the first has been translated from her native Dutch to English.  The book is called “Happy Cake Days” and I purchased my copy from Wendy on the day and was delighted that she was kind enough to sign it for me…

This book is GORGEOUS.  In every way!   Not only are the projects that Wendy has included shown in step-by-step detail, the book design is fabulous, the explanations are super clear and the introductions that Wendy has written for each cake are just, well…, heartwarming!   Further, you can tell she writes from the heart!

Golden Wedding

Projects include cakes for newborns, 1st year birthdays, first day at school, first swim without armbands, sweet sixteen birthday, graduation, celebrating the purchase of your first home, your wedding, babies, golden wedding and even… gasp!…Divorce!

Wendy can be followed on Facebook and Twitter and she has a website that, if you’re an English speaker only, handily translates from her native Dutch to English.

New Home

Wendy is a talented sugar modeller, and runs workshops where you can learn to make these beautiful figures.  Take a look at this beautiful wedding couple for instance… amazing!

Wendys 4 the love of cake

Happily, Wendy has agreed to an “Interview with” The Cake Diva and I look forward to finding out more about this very talented lady and her beautiful work.

As I left her stand Wendy asked me that, if I made any of the cakes from the book, I would post pictures to her Facebook page as she just loves to see the results… Wendy I absolutely will!

Denise x

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

